Prof Stephen Locarnini

Research and Molecular Development
Victorian Infectious Diseases Reference Laboratory

Research Activities

The main areas of research activity:
  • Hepatitis B antiviral resistance -
  • Effect of antiviral resistant mutations on the envelope gene of HBV
  • HBV cure


Virology/Molecular Virology in particular with hepatitis viruses and HIV
Resistance to antiviral agents:
  • database set up and data mining
  • phylogenetic and AI
  • mechanisms of drug resistance
  • molecular modelling
Molecular diagnostics of infectious diseasesWorld Health Organisation (WHO) Collaborating CentreWorld Health Organisation (WHO) Regional Reference Laboratory for Hepatitis B


HBV innate immunity:
HBV/HCV co-infection and HBV innate immunity:
Dr Michael Beard, Institute of Medical and Veterinary Science, Adelaide, South Australia
HIV/HBV co-infection:
Professor Sharon Lewin, Department of Infectious Diseases, Alfred Hospital, Prahran, Victoria
Dr Joe Sasadeusz, Victorian Infectious Diseases Service, Royal Melbourne Hospital, Parkville, Victoria
HBV Antiviral resistance:
Professor Peter Angus, Liver Transplant Unit, Austin and Repatriation Medical Centre, Heidelberg, Victoria
David Chalmers, Victorian College of Pharmacy, Parkville, Victoria
Dr Robert de Man, Erasmus University Hospital, Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Professor Michael Manns, Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Medical School of Hannover, Hannover, Germany.
Professor G. McCaughan, Director, The AW Morrow Gastroenterology and Liver Centre, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Camperdown, NSW
HBV mutants:
Professor Joseph Sung, Chairman, Department of Medicine and Therapeutics; Director, Centre for Emerging Infectious Diseases, Faculty of Medicine, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Prof Alex Thompson, Department of Gastroenterology, St Vincent's Hospital, Melbourne Victoria
Professor Willaim Sievert, Department of Medicine, Monash Medical Centre, Clayton, Victoria


Other Lab Members

Division of Research and Molecular Development
Head of Division: Professor Stephen Locarnini
Personal Assistant: Tania Candy (
Dr Scott Bowden (
Rachel Hammond
Kathy Jackson
Lilly Tracy
Tim Shaw (
Dr Peter Revill (
Dr Nadia Warner
Danni Colledge
Ros Edwards
Dr Margaret Littlejohn
Margaret Nash
Tina Sozzi
Lilly Yuen
Sara Bonanzinga
Liz Vincan
Renae Walsh
Hugh Mason
Xin Li
Prof Hans Netter

Other members with similar research interests

prev next

A/Prof Fasseli Coulibaly

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Monash University SEE FULL PROFILE >

Ms Jun Gu

Viral Fusion Laboratory Burnet Institute SEE FULL PROFILE >

Mr Khamis Tomusange

Surgery University of Adelaide SEE FULL PROFILE >

Upcoming Events

  • Sep 30

    BacPath 15

    Novotel Vines Resort MORE INFO
  • Oct 1

    2019 International HBV Meeting

    Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre MORE INFO
  • Oct 2

    Infectious Diseases Week